Candidates announced for the West of England Mayoral Election

Tim Bowles

Current WofE Mayor Tim Bowles

The list of candidates standing in the West of England Mayoral election has been published today.

On Thursday 6 May, residents in Bath & North East Somerset, Bristol and South Gloucestershire will be able to vote for a West of England Mayor.

The Regional Mayor leads the West of England Combined Authority (WECA); leading the development of regional business, skills, housing and transport – issues that impact people living and working across the region.

WECA also leads on the recovery plan for the region, to make sure that the right support and infrastructure is in place for residents and businesses to drive the region’s recovery.

The four people standing in the West of England Mayoral election are:

  • NORRIS, Dan (Labour Party)
  • THOMAS, Jerome (Green Party)
  • WILLIAMS, Samuel Patrick Sutherland (The Conservative Party Candidate)
  • WILLIAMS, Stephen Roy (Liberal Democrat)

A booklet with details of the candidates will be posted to all electors from 14 April. In order to vote in this important election residents must be on the electoral register.

Voters have a range of options for casting their ballot – in person, by post or by appointing someone they trust to vote in their place, known as a proxy vote. The deadline to apply for a postal vote is 5pm on 20 April, and for a proxy vote the deadline is 5pm on 27 April.

Combined Authority Returning Officer, Shahzia Daya said: “It’s important to make sure your voice is heard at the elections in May. You can vote either at a polling station, by post or by proxy.

“However you choose to vote, you must be registered in order to have your say at the elections – the easiest way to register is online at

“If you decide to vote by post, don’t wait until the deadline to apply. Sending your application now will make sure it is processed early, and your postal vote can be sent to you more quickly. It’s easy to apply and you can find out how by visiting the Electoral Commission website.”