Creative UK Group announces new members of its UK Council

The Creative UK Group has today announced the newly appointed members of its UK Council, following an open call for applications earlier in 2021.

With members drawn from across each UK nation and region, as well as the full spectrum of creative sub-sectors, the UK Council plays a vital role in determining and shaping the Creative UK Group’s impact priorities, steering policy positions and sharing crucial insights from across industry and the UK.

Caroline Norbury MBE, CEO, Creative UK Group, said: “We are very excited to announce the newly appointed members of our UK Council, whose breadth of experience and expertise will be
enormously valuable in driving our mission to ensure the best possible conditions for the growth and success of the creative industries.

“Representing freelancers, practitioners and businesses both big and small, they reflect the diversity and creativity that is central to what makes our sector thrive.”

UK Council members are appointed for a term of two years, convening three times a year to champion and share the priorities, concerns, opportunities and ideas of their creative communities.

Creative Group’s UK Council Members:

Bernard P Achampong Director – Development, Unedited and CEO, Ideas Genius Ltd.

Nicholas Allott Producer / Cultural Fellow, Cameron Mackintosh

Deborah Annetts CEO, Incorporated Society of Musicians

Paul Appleby MBE Advisor, Bristol Creative Industries & Director, VID Communications

Syima Aslam CEO, Bradford Literature Festival

Yasin El Ashrafi CEO, HQ Recording

Rachael Brown CEO, Future Economy Company

Helen Brunsdon Director, British Animation Awards

Lisa Burdge Co-Founder: Olympic Studios, The Cinema at Selfridges, The Cinema in the Arches/the Power Station, Empire Design Ltd.

Louise Fedotov-Clements Artistic Director, QUAD & Director, FORMAT International Photography Festival

Tamily Cookson Interim CEO, Creative Quarter Company Nottingham

Helen Craddock Communications Director, Ryder Architecture

Marcus Davey Chief Executive and Artistic Director, Roundhouse

Sarah Dear Managing Director, Born Ugly

Nick Davies MD, John Murray Press/Hachette UK

Pardeep Duggal Digital Transformation Leader

Deborah Dawton CEO, Design Business Association

Penny Evans Director of KWMC The Factory and founding member of Knowle West Media Centre

Jim Farmery Director of Development, Backstage Academy in Wakefield managing XPLOR

Alison Grade CEO Mission Accomplished and author The Freelance Bible

Gus Casely-Hayford Director, V&A East

Mark Hogarth Creative Director, Harris Tweed

Natalie Humphreys MD, Storyboard Studios

Kene Igweonu Academic Dean, Middlesex University

Emmie Kell CEO, Cornwall Museums Partnership

Noel Kelly FRSA Chief Executive Officer / Director, Visual Artists Ireland

Kanya King Founder, MOBO

Mark Lawler CEO, Baltic Creative

Shona McCarthy CEO, Edinburgh Festival Fringe Society

Patrick McCrae CEO, Artiq

James Morgan HEART, Lincoln College & Founder, Event Tech Lab

Andrew Ogun Agent for Change, Arts Council Wales

Jack Pepper Young Member, Radio Presenter

Martin Prendergast Director of Development and Public Affairs, RADA

Lara Ratnaraja Director, Cultural Consultant

Renay Richardson Founder, Broccoli Content

James Rider Chief Commercial Officer, Pinewood

Berwyn Rowlands Iris Prize

Caroline Rush CBE CEO, British Fashion Council (BFC)

Sophie Scott Film & TV Communications Consultant

Mark Senior CEO, Dock 10

Russ Shaw CBE Founder, Tech London Advocates & Global Tech Advocates

Giselle Stewart Director, UK Corporate Affairs, Ubisoft

Ammo Talwar CEO, Punch Records

Graeme Thompson Pro Vice Chancellor, University of Sunderland

Annabel Turpin CEO & Artistic Director, ARC – Stockton Arts Centre

Jo Twist CEO of Ukie, the trade body for UK games and interactive entertainment

Jo Verrent Senior Producer, Unlimited

Annie Warburton CEO, Cockpit Arts

Noshua Watson Founder, Interwoven Impact CIC